Instant On - Wireless

View Only
  • 1.  Differences between AP´s

Posted 02-01-2021 11:30 AM
    A novice here, asking stupid questions here.
    Sorry if these sound too easy for more experienced ones.

I am planning of upgrading and modernizing our 4-5 year old WiFi network, in a big 4 floor house.
    About 150-200 m2/ floor.

Already asked about using switch etc on another part of this forum.

The Aruba planner gives me advice to use either AP11, AP12 or AP 15 to build up pur WiFi.
    No problem here, and ready to purchase them. 
    The idea would be to cover each floor with one AP.
    My problem is not the amount of users, even AP11 is enough for our use.
    Have a handful of users on each floor at most.

But is there anything else worth knowing when buying the AP´s ? 
    Is the Ap15 always better that AP12 or AP11 ? As Ap11 are cheap, are they then not as good as the bigger models ?
    Is coverage/signal always better in AP12 and AP15, than in AP11 ?
    And if (as an example) I would buy AP11´s, AP12´s or AP15´s for each floor, are they then too close to each other and thus creating problems for me ?
    The planner proposed AP11 to each floor. Just a bit worried if I would be better of with Ap12´s , or even AP15´s.

Any knowledge, tips and links appreciated !
    Or should I go for like 2 AP15 only, and mounting them centrally ?

------------------------------
    Eki912

• 2.  RE: Differences between AP´s

Posted 02-01-2021 08:26 PM
    I too would like to know the answer to this. Although in my case, the house is only 3 1/2 floors, about 140m^2 per floor and "H" shaped reinforced concrete.
    I was looking at 2 or 3 AP22 per floor and something for the roof.  (Cost is not a problem for this client.)

F

• 3.  RE: Differences between AP´s

Posted 02-16-2021 10:17 AM