Instant On - Wireless

View Only
  • 1.  Roku Connectivity

Posted 01-18-2022 01:30 PM
    Having issues with multiple Roku's staying connected to AP15's. Originally had Roku's on a combined private network with both 2.4 and 5 bandwidths then moved to private network with just 5Ghz and optimized for streaming. They will connect then drop off. Reset wireless and connect again then sometimes will stay on and sometimes drop off. Any thoughts?

Have a MetroNet router for DHCP and the switch is a 1930 8G PoE 2SFP 124W. Total combined clients on the network at max was 7. I also have a Clover card machine that shows connected and transmitting data but the client says it isnt transmitting information. We've rebooted the network and all devices but nothing seems to work. 

This is my first time using the Instant On platform. Any suggestions? 

------------------------------
    Steve

• 2.  RE: Roku Connectivity

Posted 01-19-2022 02:48 PM
    Since it now just the 5 ghz band how is the distances to AP?  TV's might be partially blocking the RF so the closer the better.  Why not just make the both bands again?  Typical HD streaming for 1080P is only 5 mbps while 4k is 15-32mbps but most things streamed from the cloud is heavily compressed and likely the lower rate.  How many TV clients are connected per AP?  The more APs the better, the closer to high data users the better.  AP15 are 4x4 mimo if I recall so each should handle at least 4 clients easily, anything over then they start having to share the radios.

• 3.  RE: Roku Connectivity

Posted 01-20-2022 05:53 PM
    TV's wouldnt be blocking the signal as it is direct line of sight from the AP. The Roku's kept trying to go directly to the 5Ghz and that is all that is on those AP's. 3 Roku's are being utilized and the AP15 is designed for up to 100 clients per the documentation. So I cant see that being an issue unless that is misleading. Max distance from AP to Roku is 15feet.

Stephen Renfro

• 4.  RE: Roku Connectivity