Instant On - Wired

View Only
  • 1.  How to assign static IP to a client and Configuring Subnets Behind a Firewall

Posted 01-31-2022 02:34 PM
    So I am brand new to Instant On and was hoping people could help me with a couple quick questions:

First how do I assigna static IP to a client via the Instant On Portal? This is usually pretty straight foward in my experience but I couldn't find anything navigating the different menues or the online documenation.

Second, so we have the the instant on behind a Fortinet wall which is pushing static IP Address to the switch in a 172.xx  format.  With that in mind, should I setup the LAN IP as static?  I want the instant on to assign IP addresses  to our local lan and company only network using a 10.14.1.1 format, but how would I do that if the LAN IP is set to a 172.xx format?

Thanks for the help!

------------------------------
    Patrick Moore

• 2.  RE: How to assign static IP to a client and Configuring Subnets Behind a Firewall

Employee
    Posted 02-04-2022 12:40 PM
    Hey Patrick,

Thank you for coming to the community with your concerns. Below are the answers to your questions.

Question 1:

As a reference, you can find the IP reservation section in the user guide on page 49 https://community.arubainstanton.com/HigherLogic/System/DownloadDocumentFile.ashx?DocumentFileKey=2477ba3e-6c6f-124b-188b-420a47216630&forceDialog=0

IP could be reserved for clients and devices on an Instant On AP in Router mode.

To reserve an IP, you can do it directly from the client list, or you can configure it in the Device List, in the connectivity tab of the router:

Please use this option to configure local LAN IP based on network needs.

To set a DHCP scope, you can configure it in an Employee or guest network under the options menu:

Aruba Instant On Communications

• 3.  RE: How to assign static IP to a client and Configuring Subnets Behind a Firewall

Posted 02-23-2022 09:30 PM